Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

First Members of New National Commission on Forensic Science Named

The U.S. Department of Justice and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) have announced the appointment of 33 individuals to a newly created National Commission on Forensic Science.

Members of the commission will work to improve the practice of forensic science by developing guidance concerning the intersections between forensic science and the criminal justice system. The commission also will work to develop policy recommendations for the U.S. Attorney General, including uniform codes for professional responsibility and requirements for formal training and certification.

The commission is co-chaired by Deputy Attorney General James Cole and Under Secretary of Commerce for Standards and Technology and NIST Director Patrick Gallagher. Nelson Santos, deputy assistant administrator for the Office of Forensic Sciences at the Drug Enforcement Administration, and John Butler, special assistant to the NIST director for forensic science, serve as vice-chairs. There are an additional six ex officio members.

Details are in the Jan. 10, 2014, NIST news announcement, "U.S. Departments of Justice and Commerce Name Experts to First-Ever National Commission on Forensic Science."

Released January 14, 2014, Updated January 25, 2023