Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Three at NIST Honored by ANSI

Three staff members of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) are among the 17 recipients of the 2012 Leadership and Service Awards presented by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). The internationally known standards development organization makes the awards annually to recognize individuals "for their significant contributions to national and international standardization activities, as well as an ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system."

This year's recipients include:

Patrick Gallagher, Undersecretary of Commerce for Standards and Technology and Director of NIST, will receive the Chairman's Award, which honors outstanding accomplishments by any group or individual on behalf of ANSI or the ANSI Federation.

Gordon Gillerman, chief of NIST's Standards Services Group, will receive the Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.

Elham Tabassi, an electronics engineer in NIST's Information Technology Laboratory, will receive one of three Next Generation Awards, which honor individuals who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during that time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity.

ANSI will honor the seventeen distinguished award recipients during an October 10 ceremony in Washington, D.C., held in conjunction with World Standards Week 2012.

Read the July 23, 2012, ANSI news announcement, "ANSI Announces Recipients of the 2012 Leadership and Service Awards."

Released July 25, 2012, Updated February 1, 2023