Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Four at NIST Elected AAAS Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest general scientific society, has elected four researchers at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) to this year's class of AAAS Fellows.

AAAS Fellows are nominated and selected by their peers to recognize meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications. The four new fellows from NIST are:

Jeffrey Voas, of the NIST Information Technology Laboratory, for distinguished contributions in the development of trustworthy software systems and advanced software fault injection-based testing techniques;

Jeffrey Nico, from the NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory, for distinguished contributions to precision measurements and fundamental symmetry tests using cold neutrons and to radiochemical determinations of the proton-proton fusion solar neutrino flux;

Vijay Srinivasan, from the NIST Engineering Laboratory, for distinguished contributions to scientific theory, algorithms, and standards for computer-aided design and manufacturing; and

Cedric Powell, from the NIST Material Measurement Laboratory, for outstanding contributions to electron spectroscopies of solids, especially in application to quantitative analysis of surfaces and establishment of surface measurement standards.

The AAAS elected 539 new fellows in 2011 from the association's 24 technical sections. The new fellows will be formally recognized on Feb. 18, 2012, during the 2012 AAAS Annual Meeting in Vancouver, B.C., Canada. A complete list of the new AAAS Fellows is available at

Released January 10, 2012, Updated January 12, 2023