Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NIST Names 15 to New Smart Grid Advisory Committee

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has named 15 leaders from a cross section of U.S. industry, academia and trade and professional organizations to serve on its newly formed Smart Grid Advisory Committee, which convenes its first meeting on Sept. 29, 2010.

The new committee will advise NIST Director Pat Gallagher on the direction of NIST's Smart Grid-related programs and activities. Under the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007, NIST leads a nationwide effort to expedite development of consensus interoperability standards that enable two-way flows of energy and information on the Smart Grid. It also conducts research on Smart Grid topics including cyber security and advanced performance-monitoring devices known as synchrophasors and energy management systems for buildings. (For more information, go to NIST's Smart Grid page.)

Dan Sheflin, chief technology officer at Honeywell Automation and Control Systems, will chair the committee. David Owens, executive vice president of business operations at the Edison Electric Institute, will serve as vice chair.

Other new advisory committee members are:

  • Jon Arnold, Managing Director, Worldwide Power & Utilities Industry, Microsoft Corporation
  • William O. Ball, Executive Vice President and Chief Transmission Officer, Southern Company
  • Lynne Ellyn, Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer, DTE Energy
  • Evan R. Gaddis, President and Chief Executive Officer, National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA)
  • Lawrence E. Jones, Director, Strategy and Special Projects Worldwide, ALSTOM Grid
  • Suedeen G. Kelly, Partner, Patton Boggs, LLP
  • Susan M. Miller, President and Chief Executive Officer, Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions (ATIS)
  • Terry Mohn, Founder and Chief Strategy Officer, General MicroGrids, Inc.
  • Kevin F. Nolan, Vice President of Technology, GE Appliances
  • Simon Pontin, Vice President for Development, Itron Oconee Manufacturing Facility
  • William H. Sanders, Director, Information Trust Institute and Donald Biggar Willett Professor of Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Thomas J. Tobin, Vice President - R&D, S&C Electric Company
  • David Vieau, Chief Executive Officer and President, A123 Systems
Released September 28, 2010, Updated January 23, 2023