Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Baldrige Recipients to Share Strategies at Upcoming Regional Conferences

Senior leaders from the three organizations selected for the 2008 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, as well as representatives from past Award recipients, will share their best practices and results at one-day regional conferences on Sept. 15, 2009, in Milwaukee, Wisc., and Oct. 2, 2009, in Cambridge, Mass. Participants can network with the recipients and gather valuable tips on applying the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence.

The 2008 Baldrige Award recipients—listed with their category—are:

  • Cargill Corn Milling North America, Wayzata, Minn. (manufacturing)
  • Poudre Valley Health System, Fort Collins, Colo. (health care)
  • Iredell-Statesville Schools, Statesville, N.C. (education)

The Baldrige Program promotes excellence and innovation in organizational performance, recognizes the achievements and results of U.S. organizations, and publicizes successful performance strategies. The Award is not given for specific products or services. Since 1988, 75 organizations have received Baldrige Awards.

To register online for the conferences, go to A discounted advanced registration fee is available for the Milwaukee conference until Aug. 24, 2009 and for the Cambridge conference until Sept. 10, 2009.

For more information on the regional conferences, go to You also may contact the Baldrige Program at (301) 975-2036 or baldrige [at] (baldrige[at]nist[dot]gov).

The day after the Milwaukee conference, Sept. 16, 2009, Mercy Health System, a 2007 Baldrige Award recipient, will sponsor a Sharing Day. Details will be available soon on the regional conference Web page listed in the preceding paragraph.

The 2009 Regional Conferences are co-sponsored by MassExcellence, the Wisconsin Forward Award, the Alliance for Performance Excellence and the Foundation for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award in conjunction with the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

Released June 30, 2009, Updated January 13, 2023