Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Commerce Secretary Gutierrez Joins President Bush in Announcing 2008 Baldrige National Quality Awards

WASHINGTON, D.C.—Commerce Secretary Carlos M. Gutierrez joined President George W. Bush in announcing the 2008 recipients of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, the nation's highest Presidential honor for organizational innovation and performance excellence.

"I am pleased to join President Bush in announcing these three outstanding organizations that have been named to receive this year's Baldrige Award," Gutierrez said. "Quality, innovation and competitiveness are essential to maintaining America's global leadership and providing our citizens with world-class products, health care and education. Each of the recipients we honor today serves as a role model embodying the values of excellence, principled leadership and commitment to employees, customers, partners and community."

The 2008 Baldrige Award recipients include:

The 2008 Baldrige Award recipients were selected from a field of 85 applicants. All of the applicants were evaluated rigorously by an independent board of examiners in seven areas: leadership; strategic planning; customer and market focus; measurement, analysis and knowledge management; workforce focus; process management; and results. The evaluation process for each of the recipients included about 1,000 hours of review and an on-site visit by a team of examiners to clarify questions and verify information in the applications.

The Baldrige National Quality Program (BNQP) and the Baldrige Award promote innovation and performance excellence across the country and around the world in a number of ways.

The use of the Criteria for Performance Excellence, the guide designed to help organizations of all types improve their operations, is widespread. Over 10 million copies of the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence—described by one industry CEO as "probably the single most influential document in the modern history of American business"—have been distributed since 1988, and about 2 million copies are downloaded annually.

Nearly 5,000 public and private-sector leaders have served on the independent board of examiners that reviews applications for the Baldrige Award. Each applicant receives 300 to 1,000 hours of feedback from these experts.

More than 40 U.S. states and more than 45 countries worldwide have implemented programs based on the Baldrige criteria.

The 2008 Baldrige Award recipients are expected to be presented with their awards in a ceremony in Washington, D.C., early next year.

Named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th Secretary of Commerce, the Baldrige Award was established by Congress in 1987 to enhance the competitiveness and performance of U.S. businesses. Originally, three types of organizations were eligible: manufacturers, service companies and small businesses. Congress expanded the program in 1999 to include education and health care organizations, and again in 2007 to include nonprofit organizations (including charities, trade and professional associations, and government agencies). The award promotes excellence in organizational performance, recognizes the achievements and results of U.S. organizations, and publicizes successful performance strategies. The award is not given for specific products or services. Since 1988, 75 organizations have received Baldrige Awards.

The Baldrige program is managed by the Commerce Department's National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in conjunction with the private sector.

As a nonregulatory agency of the Commerce Department, NIST promotes U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.

Message from President Bush

About the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award

Questions and Answers about the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award

Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award Application Data—1988-2008

Additional Contact: Office of Public Affairs, 202-482-4883

Released November 25, 2008, Updated January 13, 2023