Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Three NIST Researchers Receive Flemming Awards

Three scientists from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) were among the eight federal employees who received the Arthur S. Flemming Award in ceremonies held June 4 at George Washington University. The Flemming Awards honor those with three to 15 years of public service experience for extraordinary contributions to the federal government.

The NIST recipients include:

  • Kent Irwin, physicist and project leader in the Quantum Electrical Metrology Division of the Electronics and Electrical Engineering Laboratory;
  • David Jacobson, physicist in the Ionizing Radiation Division of the Physics Laboratory; and
  • James Porto, supervisory physicist in the Atomic Physics Division of the Physics Laboratory.

Additional details about the award can be found online.

Released June 8, 2007, Updated January 31, 2023