Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NIST Staff Honored in 2006 Presidential Rank Awards

Five senior members of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) staff have been honored in the 2006 Presidential Rank Awards. The awards recognize exceptional long-term accomplishments in public service by career senior government executives.

There are two categories of rank awards: Distinguished and Meritorious. This year's Distinguished category honorees include: Katharine B. Gebbie, Director of the NIST Physics Laboratory; W. Todd Grams, NIST Chief Financial Officer; and Robert J. Celotta, a NIST Fellow and leader of the Electron Physics Group. Honorees in the Meritorious category include: Robert F. Moore, Chief Facilities Management Officer; and James E. Faller, Senior Research Scientist in the Quantum Physics Division.

Award winners are nominated by their agency heads, evaluated by boards of private citizens, and approved by the President. The evaluation criteria focus on leadership and results. Learn more about the award.

Released November 9, 2006, Updated February 6, 2023