Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Nominations for 1994 National Medal of Technology Being Accepted

The U.S. Department of Commerce is requesting nominations for the 1994 National Medal of Technology.  Applications must be submitted by Aug. 31, 1993.

Presented annually at a White House ceremony, the National Medal of Technology is the highest award bestowed upon American technologists by the President.  It recognizes individuals and companies for their extraordinary contributions and impact on the well-being of the United States.

"The contributions of award winners reflect technological innovation and support the advancement of U.S. competitiveness," said Commerce Secretary Ronald H. Brown in announcing the latest round of the competition.  "At a time when technology is so critical to creating economic opportunities for Americans, this award shines a spotlight on those who have pioneered new technologies and approaches to innovation."

The National Medal of Technology was established by law in 1980 and first awarded in 1985.  To date, 75 individuals and three companies have received this award.

The National Medal of Technology is awarded in five basic categories:

  • Product and Process Innovation
  • Advanced Manufacturing Technology
  • Technology Management
  • Technology Transfer from Public Organizations
  • Human Resource Development.

Any U.S. citizen, group of up to four citizens who worked on the same project(s), or substantially U.S.-owned company is eligible.  To receive a nomination form or for more information regarding the medal, please contact:  Dr. Paul Braden, Technology Administration, Room 4418, U.S. Department of Commerce, 14th St. and Constitution Ave. N.W., Washington,  D.C. 20230, (202) 482-5572.

The Foundation for the National Medals of Science and Technology, a 501(c)(3) organization, is the key organization working with the Department of Commerce to support the National Medal of Technology.  Foundation objectives focus on featuring
recipients as role models to help ignite the spirit of discovery and innovation in America's students.  For more information on the foundation, contact Executive Director Ann Woodward at (415) 951-3369.

Recipients of the 1993 National Medal of Technology will be announced later this year.

Released July 19, 1993, Updated November 27, 2017