Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

IEC/TC 65 & ISO/TC 184 JWG 21 Meeting

NIST is closely monitoring guidance from Federal, State, and local health authorities on the outbreak of COVID-19. To protect the health and safety of NIST employees and the American public they continue to serve, NIST has decided to make the event virtual. For more information on COVID-19, please visit: The JWG21 meeting will use the ISO/IEC supplied ZOOM service. Please send questions to JWG 21 Committee Officers. Those who have already registered will receive an email with more details.

The 10th meeting of the ISO/IEC Joint Working Group 21, Smart Manufacturing Reference Model(s) is being held at NIST April 15-17, 2020. ISO/IEC JWG 21 is a joint committee established between ISO TC 184, Automation Systems and Integration, and IEC TC 65, Industrial-process measurement, control and automation, under direction of the IEC Standardization Management Board and the ISO Technical Management Board. The objective of JWG21 is to create a unifying reference model for smart manufacturing.  The reference model will guide organizations in developing their own architecture models for deploying standards-based solutions for smart manufacturing. The initial deliverable of this group, a technical report entitled, “A Meta-modelling analysis approach to Smart Manufacturing Reference Models (SMRM)” will be finalized at this meeting then circulated for ballot.  Work will continue on a New Project proposal for an international standard, “Unified Reference Model for Smart Manufacturing.”

Expected attendees are subject matter experts who have been nominated to participate in JWG21 by their National Bodies. Guests are welcome to observe.

Check back for updates!


April 15th, Wednesday, 09:00 to 17:30

April 16th, Thursday, 09:00 to 17:30

April 17th, Friday, 09:00 to 12:00

Created February 6, 2020, Updated March 20, 2020