Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Tattoo Recognition Technology- Challenge (Tatt-C) Workshop

The first Tattoo Recognition Technology – Challenge (Tatt-C) workshop will be held on June 8, 2015 at the NIST campus in Gaithersburg, Maryland. The Tatt-C activity was launched in September 2014 to challenge the commercial and academic community in advancing research and development into automated image-based tattoo matching technology with goals to determine which methodologies are most effective and whether any are viable for identified operational use cases.

This workshop will bring together Tatt-C participants from industry and academia and key sponsors and stakeholders to:

  • Discuss current tattoo detection and matching performance and successes/technical challenges
  • Share utility and perspectives on the operational use of tattoos
  • Identify gaps and needs to support and progress future development
  • Shape the follow-on evaluation activity

The Tatt-C Workshop is scheduled for June 8th from 8:30am – 5:00pm. 

Please see full agenda.



If you are not registered, you will not be allowed on site. Registered attendees will receive security and campus instructions prior to the workshop.

NON U.S. CITIZENS PLEASE NOTE: All foreign national visitors who do not have permanent resident status and who wish to register for the above meeting must supply additional information. Failure to provide this information prior to arrival will result, at a minimum, in significant delays (up to 24 hours) in entering the facility. Authority to gather this information is derived from United States Department of Commerce Department Administrative Order (DAO) number 207-12. When registration is open, the required NIST-1260 form will be available as well.

*New Visitor Access Requirement: Effective July 21, 2014, under the REAL ID Act of 2005, federal agencies, including NIST, can only accept a state-issued driver's license or identification card for access to federal facilities if issued by states that are REAL ID compliant or have an extension.

DHS has granted Alaska and Massachusetts extensions, expiring October 10, 2015, permitting Federal agencies to accept for official purposes driver's licenses and identification cards issued by these states.

This change brings the number of states currently subject to REAL ID enforcement to seven: Arizona, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, New York, Washington, Idaho and American Samoa. NIST will accept only enhanced driver's licenses (identified by the American Flag on the face of the card) from three additional states: Minnesota, New York, and Washington State. Driver's licenses from all other states and territories are Real ID-compliant or have an extension. Click here for a list of alternative identification and further details>>

Created March 11, 2015, Updated July 10, 2018