Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program Office

NIST is designated by Congress as the Lead Agency for the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP). This Office supports the NEHRP Secretariat Office, which coordinates the NEHRP research and implementation activities for the four NEHRP agencies – the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), NIST, the National Science Foundation (NSF), and the US Geological Survey (USGS).

NEHRP Banner
FEMA Earthquake Program
NIST Earthquake Engineering Group
National Science Foundation
USGS Earthquake Hazards Program

The National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) was established by the U.S. Congress when it passed the Earthquake Hazards Reduction Act of 1977, Public Law (PL) 95-124.  At the time of its creation, Congress' stated purpose for NEHRP was "to reduce the risks of life and property from future earthquakes in the United States through the establishment and maintenance of an effective earthquake hazards reduction program."  In establish NEHRP, Congress recognized that earthquake-related losses could be reduced through improved design and construction methods and practices, land use controls and redevelopment, prediction techniques and early-warning systems, coordinated emergency preparedness plans, and public education and involvement programs.

The four NEHRP agencies work in close coordination to improve the Nation's understanding of earthquake hazards and to mitigate their effects.  The missions of the four agencies are complementary, and the agencies work together to improve our understanding, characterization, and assessment of hazards and vulnerabilities; improve model building codes and land use practices; reduce risks through post-earthquake investigations and education; improve design and construction techniques; improve the capability of government at all levels and the private sector to reduce and manage earthquake risk; and accelerate the application of research results.  All four agencies are responsible for coordinating program activities with similar activities in other countries.

For more information on the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program, visit 


John 'Jay' Harris  Acting Director 301 975-6538 john.harris [at] (john[dot]harris[at]nist[dot]gov)
John 'Jay' Harris Deputy Director 301 975-6538 john.harris [at] (john[dot]harris[at]nist[dot]gov)
Tina Faecke Management and Program Analyst 301 975-5911 tina.faecke [at] (tina[dot]faecke[at]nist[dot]gov)
Peter Gale Administrative Office Assistant 301 975-2000 peter.gale [at] (peter[dot]gale[at]nist[dot]gov)

News and Updates



Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date with the latest research, trends, and news.

Email Icon