Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


NASCTN Timeline

The National Advanced Spectrum and Communications Test Network (NASCTN) was established by NIST, NTIA and DOD in March of 2015 to improve opportunities for successful spectrum sharing through accurate, reliable, rigorously scientific, and unbiased measurements and analyses via a voluntary, cooperative federated network of spectrum sharing expertise and capabilities. In 2018, three new federal organizations joined NASCTN:  NASANSF, and NOAA. NASCTN is hosted within CTL at NIST.

The mission of NASCTN is to provide, through its members, robust test processes and validated measurement data necessary to develop, evaluate, and deploy spectrum sharing technologies that can improve access to the spectrum by both federal agencies and non-federal spectrum users.
NASCTN is a membership organization under a charter agreement. Members: 

  • Make available, in accordance with their organization’s rules policies and regulations, engineering capabilities and test facilities, with typical consideration for cost. 
  • Coordinate their efforts to identify, develop, and test spectrum sharing ideas, concepts, and technology to support the goal of advancing more efficient and effective spectrum sharing.
  • Make available information related to spectrum sharing, considering requirements for the protection of intellectual property, national security, and other organizational controls, and, to the maximum extent possible, allow the publication of NASCTN test results.
  • Ensure all spectrum sharing efforts are identified to other interested members.

Find the NASCTN Charter here

NASCTN Program Manager
Melissa Midzor

Charter Members:
David Goldstein, DoD
William (Bill) Horne, NASA
Marla Dowell, NIST
Ivan Navarro, NOAA
John Chapin, NSF
Eric Nelson, NTIA


Return to NASCTN home

Created December 21, 2016, Updated April 13, 2023