Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

TIP Advisory Board Members

TIP Advisory Board – Membership Briefs

Jeffrey P. Andrews, Senior VP, Strategy and Business Development, Advanced Electron Beams, Wilmington, MA. Formerly, senior investing Partner with Atlas Venture, a top tier international venture capital firm. Previously held strategy/operations positions with Intel, Lockheed Martin, Becton Dickinson. Holds 6 patents; twice Inventor of the Year with Lockheed Martin Aero and Naval Systems; numerous publications. MBA with masters in electrical engineering and bachelors in physics.

Dr. Vinton G. Cerf, VP and Chief Internet Evangelist, Google, Inc., Reston, VA. Identifies new enabling techologies to advance Google mission. Widely known as "father of the internet." Co-recipient of U.S. National Medal of Technology, ACM Alan M. Turing Award, Presidential Medal of Freedom and (forthcoming) Japan Prize. Distinguished Visiting Scientist at Jet Propulsion Lab. Doctorate in computer science, bachelors and masters in mathematics.

Dr. Charles L. Cooney, Professor of Chemical Engineering, MIT. Faculty Director of Deshpande Center for Innovation, and the International Innovative Initiative at MIT. Prestigious awards from American Chemical Society, Institute for Biotech Studies, American Institute of Chemical Engineers; elected to American Institute of Medical and Biochemical Engineers. Past Chair, FDA Advisory Committee for Pharmaceutical Science. Serves on several professional journal editorial boards. Doctorate in biochemical engineering.

Dr. Martin Izzard, Vice President, Texas Instruments, Dallas, TX. Director of TI R&D Center ; work is basis for serial interface technology in use by TI today. Doctorate on physics of thin film transistors for LCDs.

Dr. Ray O. Johnson, Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Lockheed Martin Corp., Bethesda, MD. Guides the company's technology vision and provides corporate leadership. Has served on boards of 2 biotech companies, Sandia Corporate Board of Directors and Air Force Scientific Advisory Board. Prior Air Force career in laser physics, systems design and analysis and electro-optic systems R&D. Bachelors, masters and doctorate in electrical engineering.

Dr. Radia Perlman, Intel Laboratories, Redmond, WA. Fellow, internal consultant and architect for security and routing protocols at Intel; formerly with Sun, Novell, and Digital Equipment. 97 issued patents; multiple honors. Appointed to President's Council of Advisors on S&T, Technical Advisory Group, 2006. Doctorate in computer sciences, bachelors and masters in mathematics.

Dr. Luis Proenza, President, The University of Akron, OH. Has held extensive and diverse S&T leadership positions, including: 2001 PCAST President, U.S. Arctic Research Commission, Advisory Board of U.S. Secretary of Energy, National Biotech Policy Board, Council on Competitiveness, Council on Foreign Relations, NASULGC. Doctorate in neurobiology/psychology.

James E. Reeb, (Retired) Director of Manufacturing R&D, Caterpillar, Inc., Mossville, IL. Responsibility for development of manufacturing processes and deployment; past responsibilities have included operations, logistics, procurement, production engineering/powertrain. MBA.

Dr. William Peter Teagan, Independent Consultant, Acton, MA. Extensive experience in technology development, feasibility and market assessments in advanced energy technologies, especially those to reduce energy consumption and address environmental concerns. Bachelors in engineering, doctorate in mechanical engineering.

Created January 13, 2010, Updated September 21, 2016