Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Update on DMIS Certification



William G. Rippey


The Dimensional Standards Consortium (DMSC) and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) announced the rollout of the DMSC's DMIS Certification Program at the International Manufacturing Technology Show (IMTS), September 2008. The announcement was accompanied by a demonstration of the exchange of DMIS-compliant measurement programs from three competing metrology suppliers, each programming and executing the same DMIS level 2 prismatic measurement task on two CMMs in the booth. The certification process is a step in ensuring that the output of one vendor's product can be successfully input and executed by the product of another vendor. The benefits to users of DMIS products are savings of time and money, enabled by effortless interoperability of DMIS programming and execution products from different vendors.
CMM Quarterly


dimensional metrology, discrete part inspection, DML, interoperability, quality assurance


Rippey, W. (2009), Update on DMIS Certification, CMM Quarterly, [online],, (Accessed May 21, 2024)


If you have any questions about this publication or are having problems accessing it, please contact

Created October 1, 2009, Updated February 19, 2017