Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Stabilization of the n = 3 Ruddlesden-Popper Phases: Sr4Mn3-xFexO10-δ and Sr4-yCayMn3O10- δ



R Chen, Martha Greenblatt, Leonid A. Bendersky


Sr4Mn3O10, which crystallizes in space group Cmca, is not a Ruddlesden-Popper (RP) phase. The partial substitution of either Mn by Fe or Sr by Ca leads to a stable n = 3 RP phase with tetragonal symmetry (I4/mmm). The minimum amount of Fe or Ca needed to obtain a stable RP phase are x = 0.40 for Sr4Mn3-xFexO10- δ. High resolution transmission electron microscopy and selected area electron diffraction electron microscopy indicate that about 50% of the grains have well-ordered n = 3 structure for both series of RP phases, while the rest of the grains show significant intergrowth between the n = 2 and n = 3 structures. Sr4Mn2.6Fe0.4O10- δ and Sr1.15Ca2.85Mn3O10 - δ are semiconductors and exhibit spin-glass like transitions at low temperature.
Chemistry of Materials
No. 11


Ruddlesden-Popper phase, Sr-Ca-Mn-O, Sv-Mn-Fe-O, TEM


Chen, R. , Greenblatt, M. and Bendersky, L. (2001), Stabilization of the n = 3 Ruddlesden-Popper Phases: Sr<sub>4</sub>Mn<sub>3-x</sub>Fe<sub>x</sub>O<sub>10-&#948;</sub> and Sr<sub>4-y</sub>Ca<sub>y</sub>Mn<sub>3</sub>O<sub>10- &#948;</sub>, Chemistry of Materials (Accessed April 21, 2024)
Created October 31, 2001, Updated October 12, 2021