Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Results of an International Round-Robin for Tensile Creep Rupture of Silicon Nitride



William E. Luecke


Fourteen laboratories participated in an ubterkabiratirt study to establish the within- and between-laboratory repeatability of tensile creep rupture of silicon nitride. In air at 1375 C at 200 Mpa the times to failure ranged over a factor of 50, and the minimum creep rates ranged over a factor of 20. Despite these large ranges, taken individually, no one laboratory stands out from any other, all produced equally acceptable data. Consumers of silicon nitride tensile creep data must accept this magnitude of variability in reported creep data. The wide variety of specimen shapes and sizes, gripping systems, extensometry techniques, and temperature measurement strategies make it impossible to assign definitively the root cause of the variability. However, there was a significant specimen size effect. As a group, the small-diameter specimens lasted roughly five times longer and crept three times more slowly than the large diameter usa-buttonhead specimens. A possible interpretation of the origin of this difference is that the oxidizing conditions affect more of the volume of the small specimens during the test.
Journal of the American Ceramic Society
No. 2


creep, interlaboratory study, round-robin, rupture, silicon nitride


Luecke, W. (2002), Results of an International Round-Robin for Tensile Creep Rupture of Silicon Nitride, Journal of the American Ceramic Society, [online], (Accessed July 23, 2024)


If you have any questions about this publication or are having problems accessing it, please contact

Created February 1, 2002, Updated February 19, 2017