Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Guide for Mapping Types of Information and Information Systems to Security Categories (2 vols.)



Kevin M. Stine, Richard L. Kissel, William C. Barker, Annabelle Lee, J Fahlsing, Jessica Gulick


Title III of the E-Government Act, titled the Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA) of 2002, tasked NIST to develop (1) standards to be used by all Federal agencies to categorize information and information systems collected or maintained by or on behalf of each agency based on the objectives of providing appropriate levels of information security according to a range of risk levels; and (2) guidelines recommending the types of information and information systems to be included in each such category. Special Publication 800-60 was issued in response to the second of these tasks. The revision to Volume I contains the basic guidelines for mapping types of information and information systems to security categories. The appendices contained in Volume I include security categorization recommendations and rationale for mission-based and management and support information types. [Supersedes SP 800-60 (June 2004):]
Special Publication (NIST SP) - 800-60 Rev 1
Report Number
800-60 Rev 1


computer security, cyber security, FISMA, categorization, information type, security category
Created August 1, 2008, Updated February 19, 2017