Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Crystallization and Phasing of Alanine Dehydrogenase From Archaeoglobus Fulgidus



N Smith, M P. Mayhew, Hugh Robinson, A Heroux, D Charlton, Marcia J. Holden, David T. Gallagher


Alanine dehydrogenase (AlaDH) from the hyperthermophilic archaeon A. fudgidus is a dimer of 35 kdal chains. The gene (AF1665) is annotated as an ornithine cyclodeaminase based on homology with the ornithine deaminase/ mu crystallin enzyme family. It catalyzes the NAD-dependent interconversion of alanine and pyruvate, yet shows no homology with previously known AlaDHs. We have cloned and crystallized this protein in several forms. Although the purified protein crystallizes readily under many conditions, most of the crystals diffract weakly or not at all. One polymorph growing in space group P212121 has noncrystallographic symmetry that becomes crystallographic, changing the space group to P21212, upon binding iridium or samarium. Before and after derivatization, these crystals diffract to 2.8 A using synchrotron radiation. Multiwavelength diffraction data were collected from the nonisomorphous iridium derivative, enabling structure determination
ACTA Crystallographica Section D-Biological Crystallography
Part 12


Alanine dehydrogenase (AlaDH), Crystallization


Smith, N. , Mayhew, M. , Robinson, H. , Heroux, A. , Charlton, D. , Holden, M. and Gallagher, D. (2003), Crystallization and Phasing of Alanine Dehydrogenase From Archaeoglobus Fulgidus, ACTA Crystallographica Section D-Biological Crystallography (Accessed June 14, 2024)


If you have any questions about this publication or are having problems accessing it, please contact

Created December 1, 2003, Updated February 19, 2017