Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

A Compact Variable-Temperature Broadband Series-Resistor Calibration



Nathan D. Orloff, Jordi Mateu, Arkadiusz C. Lewandowski, Eduard Rocas, Joshua P. King, Dazhen Gu, Juan C. Collado Gomez, Ichiro Takeuchi, Xiaoli Lu, James C. Booth


We present a method to obtain a broadband on wafer calibration from 45 MHz to 40 GHz for variable temperature, which requires three standards: a thru-reflect, and series-resistor. The maximum error of this technique compared to a benchmark 9 standard multiline thru-reflect-line is comparable to the repeatability of the benchmark calibration. The series-resistor standard is modeled as a lumped-element π -network. We show that the model is stable over a long times, and compare the calibration to multiline thru-reflect line as a function of time. The approach is then demonstrated at variable temperature, where the model parameters are extracted at 300 K down to 20 K to determine their temperature dependence. The resultant technique reduced the total footprint of the calibration standards by a factor of 17 and measurement time by a factor of 3.
IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques


calibration, error correction, microwave, scattering parameters, series-resistor, temperature, cryogenic


Orloff, N. , Mateu, J. , Lewandowski, A. , Rocas, E. , King, J. , Gu, D. , Collado, J. , Takeuchi, I. , Lu, X. and Booth, J. (2011), A Compact Variable-Temperature Broadband Series-Resistor Calibration, IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques (Accessed May 23, 2024)


If you have any questions about this publication or are having problems accessing it, please contact

Created January 1, 2011, Updated February 19, 2017