Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Thirumalai Venkatesan (Assoc)

Professor Thirumalai Venkatesan is a Visiting Fellow in the Microsystems and Nanotechnology Division and is currently the Director of the Nano Institute at the National University of Singapore (NUSNNI) where he is a Provost Chair Professor of ECE, Physics, MSE and NGS. He wore various hats at Bell Labs and Bellcore for about 17 years before becoming a Professor at University of Maryland for another 17 years. He is the inventor of the pulsed laser deposition (PLD) process, a Fellow of the APS, winner of the Bellcore Award of excellence, was a Guest Professor at Tsinghua University and Winner of the George E. Pake Prize awarded by American Physical Society (2012). He has over 700 publications, mainly in the field of oxides with a citation of about 39,000 and an h index of 99. He is working with Henri Lezec in the application of oxide hetero structures for novel plasmonic and metamaterials devices.

Selected Publications

  • Imaging and control of ferromagnetism in LaMnO3/SrTiO3 heterostructures,  X. Renshaw Wang, C.J. Li, W.M. Lu, T.R. Paudel, D.P. Leusink, M. Hoek, N. Poccia, A. Vailionis, T. Venkatesan, J.M.D. Coey, E.Y. Tsymbal, Ariando, and H. Hilgenkamp, Science, 349 (6249) 716-719 (2015).
  • Long-range magnetic coupling across a polar insulating layer,  W. M. Lu, S. Saha, X. Renshaw Wang, Z. Q. Liu, K. Gopinadhan, Wang, Z. Q. Liu, K. Gopinadhan, A. Annadi, S. W. Zeng, Z. Huang, B. C. Cao, C.X. Cong, T. Yu, M. Venkatesan, J. M. D. Coey, and Ariando, T. Venkatesan, Nature Communications, 16 March (2016).
  • Component-Specific Analysis of Plasma Protein Corona Formation on Gold Nanoparticles Using Multiplexed Surface Plasmon Resonance, Abhijeet Patra , Tao Ding , Gokce Engudar, Yi Wang , Michal Marcin Dykas, Bo Liedberg, James Chen Yong Kah, Thirumalai Venkatesan, and Chester Lee Drum, Small, 12 (9) 1174-1182 (2016).
Created June 15, 2019, Updated December 9, 2022