Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Matthew Scholl (Fed)

Division Chief

Matthew Scholl is the Chief of the Computer Security Division in the National Institute of Standards and Technology’s Information Technology Laboratory (ITL). His responsibilities include cryptographic standards used by the US Government and internationally, Cybersecurity Research and Development, and Cybersecurity Standards and Guidelines for Federal Agency Security Programs. He also leads the Divisions participation with Cybersecurity National and Internationals Standards Development Organizations (SDOs) and associated conformance testing programs.

Mr. Scholl has a Masters in Information Systems from the University Of Maryland and a Bachelors Degree from the University of Richmond. He is a U.S. Army veteran and currently has over 25 years of federal service.


Guidelines for Media Sanitization

Richard L. Kissel, Andrew R. Regenscheid, Matthew A. Scholl, Kevin M. Stine
Media sanitization refers to a process that renders access to target data on the media infeasible for a given level of effort. This guide will assist
Created October 9, 2019, Updated December 8, 2022