Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Kevin A. Kimball (Fed)

Mr. Kimball serves as Chief of Staff where he provides strategic guidance and advice to the NIST Director and senior leadership to help the Institute accomplish its mission by maximizing budgetary resources, expanding partnerships, and improving operations.

Mr. Kimball has nearly 25 years of budget, policy, and legislative experience in the Federal government. Prior to rejoining NIST in 2008, Mr. Kimball was a Professional Staff Member on the Commerce, Justice, and Science Appropriations Subcommittee in the United States Senate. In that position, he served as the principal advisor to Chairwoman Barbara A. Mikulski (D-MD) on budget and policy matters related to the Department of Commerce, including NIST, the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Trade Representative, and the International Trade Commission. Mr. Kimball's responsibilities also included oversight of National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's weather satellites and the Census Bureau's planning for the 2010 Decennial Census.

Before working in the U.S. Senate, Mr. Kimball spent 12 years working at NIST, including his last position as Director of Congressional and Legislative Affairs. He began his career as a budget analyst at NIST in 1994.

A lifelong resident of Montgomery County, Maryland, Mr. Kimball grew up in Gaithersburg and currently resides in Poolesville with his two sons. Mr. Kimball received his B.S. in Accounting from the University of Maryland.


American Competitiveness Of a More Productive Emerging Tech Economy Act (The American COMPETE Act)

Commerce Secretary, Kevin A. Kimball, Matthew Hoehler, Anne Lane, Elham Tabassi, Connie LaSalle, Mark VanLandingham, James A. Warren, Naomi Lefkovitz, Nada T. Golmie, Chris Greer, Matthew Scholl, Dylan Yaga, Andrew C. Wilson, Kevin Stine, Karen Reczek, Institute for Defense Analyses Science and Technology Policy Institute (IDA STPI), Quantum Economic Development Consortium (QED-C), Federal Trade Commission (FTC)
Under DIVISION FF, Title XV, §1501 of the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2021 (Public Law 116-260)—the "American Competitiveness Of a More Productive
Created October 9, 2019, Updated December 8, 2022