Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Johanna Camara (Fed)

Research Chemist

Johanna began her employment at NIST as an NRC Postdoctoral Associate. Her activities have encompassed a wide variety of areas, including: MALDI-ToF mass spectrometry of bacteria, molecular cloning of stable-isotope labeled proteins for mass spectral internal standards, and the quantification of small organic molecules in pharmaceuticals, foods, and biological SRMs with liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry. She has participated in the Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship program at NIST as an application reviewer and research mentor. Johanna is also the Clinical SRM Program Coordinator, the Quality Manager for the Organic Chemical Metrology Group, and the Deputy Quality Manager for the Chemical Sciences Division.

Membership and Professional Activities:

  • Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute, Clinical Chemistry and Toxicology Consensus Committee
    - Member, 2013 - 2015
    Chemistry and Toxicology Expert Review Panel Chairholder, 2016 - 2018
    Chemistry and Toxicology Expert Review Panel Member, 2019 - present
    - NIST delegate to CLSI, 2013 - present
  • US Technical Advisory Group to ISO/TC212 Clinical laboratory testing and in vitro diagnostic test systems
    - Voting member, 2013 - present
    - Executive Committee Member 2017 - present
  • Washington Chromatography Discussion Group
    - Committee member, 2005 - 2007
  • IFCC Working Group-Commutability member, 2014-present


  • COSMOS Club Grants-in-Aid to Young Scholars, 2004
  • CSTL Exploratory Research Proposal, FY2006
  • NIST Materials Measurement Laboratory Outreach Accolade for developing and leading a week-long training course on isotope dilution-mass spectrometry in clinical measurements for staff from six National Metrology Institutes, 2017
  • 2018 Allen V. Astin Measurement Science Award for Advancing Vitamin D Metrology


Assessment of Serum Total 25-Hydroxyvitamin D Assays for Vitamin D External Quality Assessment Scheme (DEQAS) Materials Distributed at Ambient and Frozen Conditions

Johanna Camara, Christopher T. Sempos, Emma L. Williams, Graham D. Carter, Julia C. Jones, Carolyn Burdette, Grace Hahm, Federica Nalin, David L. Duewer, Adam J. Kuszak, J. M. Betz, Andrew Hoofnagle, Pierre Lukas, E. Cavalier, Ramon Durazo-Arvizu, P. M. Crump, Christian Popp, Christian Beckert, Glen Van Slooten, Patrick Gradon, Joelle Morgand, Sarah Paul, Bruno Emanuelli, Angelo Maggio, Fiona Ivison, Ralf Fischer, Jody M. van den Ouweland, Chung S. Ho, Emmett W. Law, Jean-Nicolas Simard, Renaud Gonthier, Brett Holmquist, Manisha S. Patwardhan, Marcelo C. Batista, Heather Pham, Sarah Meadows, Eugene Jansen, Dilshad A. Khan, Kimberly Robyak, Mark Kilbane, Neil Parker, Vincent Chen, Robert Fitzgerald, Sohail Mushtaq, Michael W. Clarke, Norma Breen, Christine Simpson, Stephen A. Wise
The Vitamin D External Quality Assessment Scheme (DEQAS) distributes human serum samples four times per year to over 1000 participants worldwide for the

Metrological Tools for the Reference Materials and Reference Instruments of the NIST Material Measurement Laboratory

Carlos R. Beauchamp, Johanna Camara, Jennifer Carney, Steven J. Choquette, Kenneth D. Cole, Paul C. DeRose, David L. Duewer, Michael Epstein, Margaret Kline, Katrice Lippa, Enrico Lucon, John L. Molloy, Michael Nelson, Karen W. Phinney, Maria Polakoski, Antonio Possolo, Lane C. Sander, John E. Schiel, Katherine E. Sharpless, Michael R. Winchester, Donald Windover
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), formerly the National Bureau of Standards, was established by the U.S. Congress in 1901 and charged

Interlaboratory Comparison of 25-Hydroxyvitamin D Assays: Vitamin D Standardization Program (VDSP) Intercomparison Study 2 – Part 1 Liquid Chromatography – Tandem Mass Spectrometry (LC-MS/MS) Assays – Impact of 3-epi-25-Hydroxyvitamin D3

Stephen Wise, Johanna Camara, Carolyn Burdette, Grace Hahm, Federica Nalin, Adam Kuszak, Joyce Merkel, Ramon Durazo-Arvizu, Emma Walker, Andrew Hoofnagle, Fiona Ivison, Ralf Fischer, Jody van den Ouweland, Chung Ho, Emmet Law, Jean-Nicolas Simard, Renaud Gonthier, Brett Holmquist, Sarah Meadows, Lorna Cox, Kimberly Robyak, Michael Creer, Robert Fitzgerald, Michael Clarke, Norma Breen, Pierre Lukas, Etienne Cavalier, Christopher Sempos
An interlaboratory comparison study was conducted by the Vitamin D Standardization Program (VDSP) to assess the performance of liquid chromatography – tandem
Created October 9, 2019, Updated December 8, 2022