Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Baldrige Needs the Best of the Best as Examiners

Provide a valuable service to your country. If you're an expert from a business, education, healthcare or nonprofit organization, and possess knowledge and experience in leadership, strategic planning, customer service, human resources, process management and achieving results, you are on the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program's "Most Wanted List."

The Baldrige Program is seeking exceptional individuals to serve on the 2011 Board of Examiners for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. Examiners evaluate applications for the Award and prepare feedback reports to applicants that cite strengths and opportunities for improvement. They also act as "ambassadors" for the Baldrige Program and performance excellence.

The application form for the 2011 Board of Examiners is now available online. Applications must be submitted electronically by 5 p.m. EST on Jan. 13, 2011.

The board consists of more than 500 volunteers, including 12 judges and about 60 senior examiners representing many industries and sectors. Service on the board provides opportunities to enhance one's knowledge about improving processes and achieving world-class results, develop a network of like-minded colleagues, and help improve U.S. competitiveness.

Perhaps the most valuable benefit to being an examiner: comprehensive training from one of the top 10 government leadership development programs as named by Leadership Excellence magazine for three years in a row. This professional development also can qualify for Continuing Education Units (CEUs).

For assistance in preparing an examiner application, contact examappl [at] (examappl[at]nist[dot]gov) or call the Examiner Hotline toll-free at (877) 237-9064 (Option 2).

Named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th Secretary of Commerce, the Baldrige Award was established by Congress in 1987 and is managed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in cooperation with the private sector. The Baldrige Performance Excellence Program promotes excellence in organizational performance, recognizes the achievements and results of U.S. organizations, and publicizes successful performance management strategies. The Baldrige Award is not given for specific products or services. Since 1988, 86 organizations have received Baldrige Awards.

Released November 30, 2010, Updated January 13, 2023