Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NCNR Researchers Win Prizes in Neutron Scattering

The Neutron Scattering Society of America (NSSA) has honored scientists working at NIST with two of its three major annual prizes for 2010, and named another a society fellow.

Collin Broholm of the Johns Hopkins University has won the society's Sustained Research Prize, and Craig Brown of the NIST Center for Neutron Research (NCNR) has won its Science Prize. The scientists, who both conduct research at the NCNR, will each receive a $2,500 honorarium in a ceremony at the American Conference on Neutron Scattering in Ottawa, Canada, in late June, 2010.

Broholm was cited "for outstanding neutron scattering studies of correlated electron physics in magnets, metals and superconductors, and for science-driven development of neutron scattering techniques." His award, which recognizes an enduring contribution to science over an extended time period, also cites his work with quantum magnetic systems.

Brown was cited "for outstanding neutron scattering studies of hydrogen-framework interactions in metal-organic frameworks," which could be important for storing hydrogen for use in fuel cells. His award, which recognizes a major scientific accomplishment in the past five years, cites discoveries that have established Brown as a leading expert in the field of hydrogen storage.

Additionally, Wen-Li Wu of NIST's Materials Science and Engineering Laboratory has been named an NSSA fellow in recognition of his "important contributions to a broad range of problems in polymer science and in its industrial application using neutron scattering." Wu, a NIST fellow since 2004, is also a Fellow of the American Physical Society and 1992 recipient of the Department of Commerce Gold Medal.

The NSSA was formed in 1992 for individuals in academia, industry and government who have an interest in neutron scattering research. The non-profit society has more than 1,000 members from 26 countries. For more information, visit

Released March 16, 2010, Updated January 20, 2023