Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Scripps Director Joins NIST Advisory Group

Tony Haymet, director of Scripps Institution of Oceanography at the University of California, San Diego, has been chosen to serve on the primary policy advisory body of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). NIST deputy director Patrick D. Gallagher appointed Haymet to NIST's Visiting Committee on Advanced Technology (VCAT). Dr. Haymet's three-year term runs through August 31, 2012.

In addition to serving several positions at Scripps and UC San Diego, Haymet is co-founder of CleanTECH San Diego, a business organization devoted to advancing the clean technology economy. Haymet has published more than 165 peer-reviewed articles. He has specialized in strategic research planning, partnerships and safety issues, especially in field and laboratory work.

Prior to arriving at Scripps in 2006, Haymet worked at the University of Houston (where he established its Environmental Modeling Institute), the University of Sydney (where he served as professor and chair of theoretical chemistry), Harvard University, the University of California at Berkeley, and the University of Utah. Haymet received his Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Chicago and was awarded a Doctor of Science at the University of Sydney in 1997.

The VCAT was established by Congress in 1988 to review and make recommendations on NIST's policies, organization, budget and programs, and was recently updated by the 2007 America COMPETES Act. The next VCAT meeting will take place October 14-15, 2009, in Boulder, Co.

For a list of all members and more information, see the VCAT Web page at

Released October 6, 2009, Updated January 20, 2023