Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Expert Reviewers Wanted for 2009 Baldrige Award Process

Each year the Baldrige Program recruits experts from business, education organizations, health care providers, nonprofits and other groups to serve on the Board of Examiners for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. Examiners evaluate applications for the Award and prepare feedback reports to applicants that cite strengths and opportunities for improvement.

The application form for the 2009 Board of Examiners will be available starting Nov. 5, 2008, at Applications must be submitted electronically; the deadline is 2 p.m. Eastern time on Jan. 6, 2009.

The board consists of more than 500 volunteers, including 12 judges and about 60 senior examiners representing many industries and sectors. Service on the board provides opportunities to enhance one's knowledge about improving processes and achieving world-class results, develop a network of like-minded colleagues, earn professional development Continuing Education Units (CEUs), and help improve U.S. competitiveness.

Highly qualified applicants may not be selected in a given year in order to balance the board with examiners from different sectors or with different work experiences. Therefore, past applicants who have not been selected are encouraged to apply again.

For assistance in preparing an examiner application, contact examappl [at] (examappl[at]nist[dot]gov) or call the Examiner Hotline toll-free at (877) 237-9064.

Named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th Secretary of Commerce, the Baldrige Award was established by Congress in 1987 and is managed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in cooperation with the private sector. The Baldrige Program promotes excellence in organizational performance, recognizes the achievements and results of U.S. organizations, and publicizes successful performance management strategies. The Baldrige Award is not given for specific products or services. Since 1988, 72 organizations have received Baldrige Awards.

The 2008 Award recipients are expected to be announced in late November.

Released October 28, 2008, Updated January 13, 2023