Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

DVD Showcases 2007 Baldrige Award Recipients

A new set of eight videos on a single DVD can help organizations large and small learn about the outstanding management practices and successful strategies of the five recipients of the 2007 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award.

The DVD showcases PRO-TEC Coating Co. (small business category), Mercy Health System (health care), Sharp HealthCare (health care), City of Coral Springs (nonprofit) and the U.S. Army Armament Research, Development and Engineering Center (nonprofit) in separate videos and together in an overview program. Also included on the DVD are two special shows: "Getting Results! The Baldrige National Quality Program" and "Celebrating Excellence—20th Anniversary of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award."

The DVD is available from the American Society for Quality, P.O. Box 3066, Milwaukee, WI 53201-3066, (800) 248-1946 for $35.00. Use order number T1520. Other Baldrige National Quality Program materials also are available from the same source.

Named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th Secretary of Commerce, the Baldrige Award was established by Congress in 1987. The award—managed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in collaboration with the private sector—promotes excellence in organizational performance, recognizes the achievements and results of U.S. organizations, and publicizes successful performance strategies. The award is not given for specific products or services. Since 1988, 72 organizations have received Baldrige Awards.

The Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence have played a valuable role in helping U.S. organizations improve. The criteria are designed to help organizations improve their performance by focusing on three goals: delivering ever-improving value to customers and stakeholders, improving the organization's overall effectiveness, and organizational and personal learning. Several million copies of the criteria have been distributed since 1988, and wide-scale reproduction by organizations and electronic access add to that number significantly.

For more information on the Baldrige award program, see

Released July 22, 2008, Updated January 19, 2023