Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NIST Staff Honored in 2007 Presidential Rank Awards

Four members of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) staff have been honored in the 2007 Presidential Rank Awards. The awards recognize exceptional long-term accomplishments in public service by career senior government executives. There are two categories of rank awards: Distinguished and Meritorious.

This year's Distinguished category honoree is Charles W. Clark of the NIST Physics Laboratory and the NIST-University of Maryland Joint Quantum Institute (JQI). Honorees in the Meritorious category are Richard F. Kayser Jr., NIST Acting Deputy Director, William J. Boettinger of the NIST Materials Science and Engineering Laboratory, and Paul S. Julienne of the NIST Physics Laboratory and JQI.

Award winners are nominated by their agency heads, evaluated by boards of private citizens, and approved by the President. The evaluation criteria focus on leadership and results. Learn more about the awards. 

Released October 25, 2007, Updated February 6, 2023