Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Three NIST Scientists Receive Flemming Awards

Three scientists from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) will be among 11 federal employees to receive the Arthur S. Flemming Awards at an awards ceremony June 13 at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Flemming Awards honor those with three to 15 years of public service experience for extraordinary contributions to the federal government.

The NIST honorees are:

  • Bradley K. Alpert, computer scientist, NIST Information Technology Laboratory, a premier researcher in scientific computing, including the development of fast algorithms for solutions in computational physics. Alpert also has been a mentor and leading proponent of mathematics careers for students at the high school, undergraduate, graduate, and post-graduate levels.
  • Yoshihiro Ohno, group leader, Optical Technology Division, NIST Physics Laboratory, known in his field as "The Father of Modern Photometry". His research into the development of semiconductor-based lighting could potentially help reduce total electricity use in the United States by 10 percent.
  • Carl J. Williams, chief, Atomic Physics Division, NIST Physics Laboratory, a world leader in applying quantum mechanics to model the collision of atoms and molecules at temperatures near absolute zero. His work on ultracold quantum mechanics has been applied to precision measurement and atomic clocks, and is laying the foundation for future quantum computing.


Released June 8, 2006, Updated January 23, 2023