Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Team Baldrige Honored for Fostering Performance Excellence

The National Institute of Standards and Technology, an agency of the Commerce Department's Technology Administration, has presented the George A. Uriano Award to Team Baldrige, the staff of the NIST Baldrige National Quality Program.

The Uriano Award is granted for outstanding achievements in building or strengthening NIST's extramural programs, with a special emphasis on fostering American competitiveness and business excellence. It was established in 1996 and is named for the first director of NIST's Advanced Technology Program.

Team Baldrige, made up of six self-directed work teams, manages the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award program for NIST. It was recognized for extensive contributions to helping U.S. industry adopt the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence.

The Baldrige Award is given annually to American companies and organizations that demonstrate business and performance excellence in seven key areas: leadership, strategic planning, customer and market focus, information and analysis, human resources focus, process management and business results. Awards may be given in any or all of five categories: manufacturing, service, small business, education and health care. Additionally, thousands of copies of the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence are distributed each year to organizations starting or expanding their quality journey.

Released November 30, 2000, Updated January 25, 2023