Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Team from Two Labs Receives NIST Astin Measurement Science Award

A team of researchers from two laboratories at the National Institute of Standards and Technology has received the 1999 Allen V. Astin Measurement Science Award for successfully implementing an Internet-based network to facilitate trade between the countries of North and South America.

The five team members are:

  • Robert J. Densock, Computer Scientist, Manufacturing Engineering Laboratory;
  • Raymond M. Hoffmann, Supervisory Computer Specialist, Manufacturing Engineering Laboratory; and
  • Nile M. Oldham, Project Leader, Electronics and Electrical Engineering Laboratory;
  • Mark E. Parker, Electronics Technician, Electronics and Electrical Engineering Laboratory;
  • Richard D. Schneeman, Computer Scientist, Manufacturing Engineering Laboratory.

The team provided the expertise, training and design configuration needed to set up the international network called SIMnet. Through SIMnet, NIST and 10 other national measurement laboratories are now able to participate remotely in measurement comparison trials, interchange data and work together to promote standards equivalency throughout the Americas. This system greatly reduces the time and cost normally involved in this process, which in turn, reduces trade barriers and facilitates the flow of goods and services.

As a non-regulatory agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce's Technology Administration, NIST strengthens the U.S. economy and improves the quality of life by working with industry to develop and apply technology, measurements and standards through four partnerships: the Manufacturing Extension Partnership, the Measurement and Standards Laboratories, the Advanced Technology Program, and the Baldrige National Quality Program.

Released December 1, 1999, Updated January 20, 2023