Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

President Clinton Presents National Quality Award To Eastman Chemical, Ames Rubber

President Clinton today presented the nation's top award for excellence in quality management—the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award—to two U.S. companies, Eastman Chemical Co. and Ames Rubber Corp. The award recipients were first announced on Oct. 18.

"In the face of extraordinary competition in the global marketplace, U.S. companies are sharpening their focus on customers' needs, desires, and expectations," Clinton said. "They are revamping management practices by empowering their people, reducing barriers to information sharing, and streamlining their organizations. In short, they are upgrading their quality management. The result is improved quality in U.S. products and services. These 1993 award winners demonstrate the practical benefits of quality improvement for their companies, and for their customers," he said.

"The two 1993 Baldrige Award recipients have woven these philosphies into all of their business practices," said Commerce Secretary Ronald H. Brown. "This trophy has come to symbolize the best of what American business can be to the men and women of Eastman Chemical and Ames Rubber. They deserve our congratulations for being among those companies leading the way in America's quality resurgence," said Brown.

The award is named for the late Secretary of Commerce Malcolm Baldrige and is managed by the Commerce Department's National Institute of Standards and Technology, an agency of the Technology Administration. The private sector is actively involved in the award program.

It was established by legislation in August 1987 to raise awareness about quality management and recognize U.S. companies that have a world-class system for managing their operations and people and satisfying their customers.

The award is not given for specific products or services. However, as part of the award process, an applicant must describe the company's methods for assuring quality of goods and services. In addition, applicants provide details on achievements and improvements in six other areas: leadership, information and analysis, strategic quality planning, human resource development and management, quality and operational results and customer focus and satisfaction.

U.S. companies applying for the award undergo a rigorous evaluation by an independent board of examiners composed of private- and public-sector quality experts. The examination includes on-site visits by quality experts for those passing an initial screening. A maximum of two awards may be given annually in each of three categories: large manufacturing, large service companies and small business. Since 1988, 19 companies have received the award.

The 1993 award recipients will present details of their quality improvement strategies and results at the annual Quest for Excellence conference to be held Feb. 7-9, 1994, at the Washington Hilton and Towers, Washington, D.C.

Released December 14, 1993, Updated November 27, 2017