Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

IEA Heat Pumping Technologies Program Executive Committee Meeting

The International Energy Agency (IEA) Heat Pumping Technologies (HPT) program,,  is one of 38 active Technology Collaboration Programmes (TCP, organized under the auspices of the IEA.  IEA-HPT was founded in 1978. There are currently 17 countries participating in this TCP: Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Italy, Germany, Japan, the Netherlands, Norway, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and the United States.  The nation of Estonia is planning to join soon.

IEA-HPT is a non-profit organization working in the field of heat pumping technologies, i.e. all technologies where heat is pumped from a lower temperature level to a higher one,  such as heat pumps, air conditioning and refrigeration.  It focuses on heat pump applications ranging from building comfort cooling & heating to commercial and industrial refrigeration to industrial processes.  The programme carries out a strategy to accelerate the use of heat pumping technologies in all applications where they can reduce energy consumption and increase the use of renewal energy sources for the benefit of the environment.

The HPT is managed by an Executive Committee (ExCo) composed of delegates representing the member countries. Mr. Stephan Renz of Switzerland is chair of the HPT ExCo and Mr. Antonio Bouza (US DOE Building Technologies Office) is the US delegate.  The ExCo meets twice each year and the fall 2019 meeting is being hosted by Mr. Bouza and the U.S. National Team (USNT, for the IEA-HPT at the National Institute of Standards and Technology.  The meeting will run three days with the first day devoted to a workshop covering the current status and trends of the US heat pump market and related R&D activities. Days 2 and 3 will be devoted to the ExCo business sessions.

Meeting location:
Bldg. 101 (Administration Building)
Lecture Room D (ground floor)


Day 1, November 12, 2019


2020 IEA Heat Pump Conference IOC meeting
07:30-09:30      IOC meeting, closed session


US workshop agenda

9:30                  Coffee, snacks

10:00                Welcome from host – Tony Bouza

10:15                Welcome from NIST – Andy Persily

10:30                Overview US market (equipment types, shipment history, etc.) – Melissa Lapsa

11:00                Presentation by Daikin US

11:30                AHRTI Refrigerants R&D – TBD

12:00                Purdue heat pump & refrigerants related R&D – Eckhard Groll

12:30                Lunch, NIST cafeteria / networking

13:45                Univ of MD/contributions to Annex 53 & 54 – Reinhard Radermacher/Yunho Hwang

14:15                DOE/BTO/ORNL /contributions to Annex 53 – Ayyoub Momen/Brian Fricke

14:45                EPRI advanced heat pump proposal/spec – Ron Domitrovic

15:15                NIST flammable refrigerants R&D & lab tour – Greg Linteris

16:00                Tour NIST NZERTF, including Annex 49 project activities –Vance Payne/Brian Dougherty

17:15                Adjournment


Day 2, November 13; IEA-HPT Executive Committee business meeting begins

08:00                Business meeting, open session (guests welcome)

11:30               Lunch, NIST cafeteria

12:30                Business meeting, open session continues (guests welcome)

15:00                All tour participants on bus for transport to University of MD, College Park, MD

16:00                Tour UoMD labs

18:30                All tour participants on bus for transport to restaurant

18:45                ExCo dinner @ The Hotel, Old Maryland Grill

21:00                All on bus for return to Gaithersburg hotels


Day 3, November 14;  IEA-HPT Executive Committee business meeting concludes

08:00                Business meeting, open session concludes if needed (guests welcome)

10:00                Business meeting, closed session

11:30                Lunch, NIST cafeteria

12:30                Business meeting, closed session

16:00                ExCo meeting adjourns

16:15                Return to Gaithersburg hotels or airport(s)

Holiday Inn
2 Montgomery Village Ave.
Gaithersburg, MD 20879
(301) 948-8900

Double Tree
620 Perry Parkway
Gaithersburg, MD  20877
(301) 977-8900

Marriott Courtyard
204 Boardwalk Place
Gaithersburg, MD  527-9000

If you are not registered, you will not be allowed on site. Registered attendees will receive security and campus instructions prior to the workshop.

NON U.S. CITIZENS PLEASE NOTE: All foreign national visitors who do not have permanent resident status and who wish to register for the above meeting must supply additional information. Failure to provide this information prior to arrival will result, at a minimum, in significant delays in entering the facility. Authority to gather this information is derived from United States Department of Commerce Department Administrative Order (DAO) number 207-12. 

NIST currently accepts the following forms of federally issued identification in lieu of a state-issued driver's license, such as a valid passport, passport card, DOD's Common Access Card (CAC), Veterans ID, Federal Agency HSPD-12 IDs, Military Dependents ID, Transportation Workers Identification Credential (TWIC), and TSA Trusted Traveler ID. 

U.S. Residents: New Visitor Access Requirement: Effective July 21, 2014, under the REAL ID Act of 2005, agencies, including NIST, can only accept a state-issued driver's license or identification card from states that are REAL ID compliant or have an extension. See the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) site for the current compliance list

Created June 18, 2019, Updated September 26, 2019