Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NICE Webinar: Shedding Light on Security Clearances - Process, Requirements, and Considerations

NICE Webinar Archives Photo


The PowerPoint slides used during the webinar can be downloaded here


Jim Onusko

Deputy Assistant Director
National Background Investigations Bureau
Office of Personnel Management

NICE_Jim Onusko

John Coliano

Federal Bureau of Investigation


FBI Seal


Cybersecurity position descriptions frequently include requirements for a security clearance. The types of clearances include:  Confidential, Secret, Top Secret (TS), or TS/SCI (Sensitive Compartmented Information).  Each clearance has different investigative requirements. Understanding these different security clearances and the process for obtaining one isn’t always clear, and often employers and job seekers have many questions, such as:

  • How long does the investigation take?
  • Do my actions 5 years ago affect my eligibility?
  • Who determines whether I get the clearance?
  • Does the process differ for federal employees versus contractors?
  • Why do I need to go through the investigative process again when changing agencies?

This webinar will help us better understand security clearances, the process for obtaining one, and items to consider that may affect eligibility.


Created July 7, 2017, Updated September 6, 2018