Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

2020 Arthur S. Flemming Katharine B. Gebbie Lifetime Achievement Award for Outstanding Federal Service – William D. Phillips

Bill Phillips
Credit: © Robert Rathe

In addition to the Arthur S. Flemming awards given annually to midcareer federal employees, William D. Phillips, a physicist in NIST’s Physical Measurement Laboratory (PML), received the fourth annual Katharine B. Gebbie Lifetime Achievement Award for Outstanding Federal Service.

Dr. Phillips, a 1987 Flemming Awards winner, was part of a team that won the 1997 Nobel Prize in physics. Dr. Gebbie, the distinguished PML Laboratory Director who mentored Dr. Phillips, worked at NIST for 48 years and served on the Flemming Commission. She died in 2016; the award was created in her honor the following year. Prior winners are U.S. Comptroller General Gene Dodaro, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases Director Anthony Fauci and Elizabeth Dole, former U.S. secretary of labor, transportation and a former U.S. senator.


Created April 21, 2020