NIST logo

Engineering Laboratory Staff

Engineering Laboratory Office (730)
Dr. Howard H. Harary
Director 301-975-5900
Dr. Joannie W. Chin
(Acting) Deputy Director 301-975-6815
Dawn Hurley
Executive Assistant to the Director 301-975-5900

Engineering Laboratory Office – HQ (730.00)
Tricia Faccone
Administrative Office Assistant
Kirk Dohne
Associate Director
Millie Glick
Senior Operations Leader 301-975-5962
Karen B. Perry
Senior Management Advisor

Applied Economics Office (730.01)
Dr. Robert E. Chapman Chief 301-975-2723
Vacant Administrative Office Assistant 301-975-5403

Engineering Laboratory Systems Administration (730.03)
Carolyn D. Rowland
Leader, Supervisory Computer Scientist
Paul Mathew Administrative Specialist 301-975-6132

Smart Grid Program Office (730.04)
Chris Greer
Director of the Smart Grid and Cyber-Physical Systems Program Office and National Coordinator for Smart Grid Interoperability 301-975-5919
Dave Wollman
Deputy Director of the Smart Grid and Cyber-Physical Systems Program Office 301-975-2433
Gail Lantion
Administrative Office Assistant

Materials and Structural Systems Division (731)
Jason D. Averill (Acting) Division Chief 301-975-2585

Dr. Kenneth A. Snyder

(Acting) Deputy Division Chief 301-975-4260
Jennifer C. Horning Division Administrative Office Assistant
Eric Letvin
Director of Disaster and Failure Studies Program
Dr. Marc Levitan
Leader of NIST’s R&D program under the National Windstorm Impact Reduction Program (NWIRP)

National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program Office (731.05)
Dr. John (Jack) R. Hayes, Jr. Director 301-975-5640
Felicia Johnson Administrative Office Assistant

Energy and Environment Division (732)
Dr. Andrew K. Persily Division Chief 301-975-6418
David Yashar 
Deputy Division Chief  301-975-5968
Elizabeth M. Loveless (WAE)
Division Administrative Office Assistant

Fire Research Division (733)
Dr. Anthony P. Hamins Division Chief 301-975-6598
Dr. Jiann C. Yang
Deputy Division Chief 301-975-6662
Carla S. (Sue) Haga
Division Administrative Office Assistant

Systems Integration Division (734)
Vijay Srinivasan Division Chief 301-975-3508
Sharon J. Kemmerer Deputy Division Chief 301-975-3508
Carlitta Foster-Hayes
(Acting) Division Administrative Office Assistant

Intelligent Systems Division (735)
Al Wavering
Division Chief 301-975-3418
Kevin Jurrens
Deputy Division Chief 301-975-3418
Alma Duke
Division Administrative Office Assistant

Search for a Staff Member
The search box accepts a name, organizational name, or e-mail address.
Bookmark and Share


Engineering Laboratory (EL)
Dr. Howard H. Harary, Director

General Information:
Dawn Hurley, Executive Assistant to the Director
301-975-5900 Telephone
301-975-4032 Facsimile

100 Bureau Drive, M/S 8600
Gaithersburg, Maryland 20899-8600