Take a sneak peek at the new NIST.gov and let us know what you think!
(Please note: some content may not be complete on the beta site.).

View the beta site
NIST logo

Team Baldrige Honored for Fostering Performance Excellence

For Immediate Release: November 30, 2000

Bookmark and Share

Contact: Jan Kosko

The National Institute of Standards and Technology, an agency of the Commerce Department's Technology Administration, has presented the George A. Uriano Award to Team Baldrige, the staff of the NIST Baldrige National Quality Program.

The Uriano Award is granted for outstanding achievements in building or strengthening NIST's extramural programs, with a special emphasis on fostering American competitiveness and business excellence. It was established in 1996 and is named for the first director of NIST's Advanced Technology Program.

Team Baldrige, made up of six self-directed work teams, manages the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award program for NIST. It was recognized for extensive contributions to helping U.S. industry adopt the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence.

The Baldrige Award is given annually to American companies and organizations that demonstrate business and performance excellence in seven key areas: leadership, strategic planning, customer and market focus, information and analysis, human resources focus, process management and business results. Awards may be given in any or all of five categories: manufacturing, service, small business, education and health care. Additionally, thousands of copies of the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence are distributed each year to organizations starting or expanding their quality journey.