Take a sneak peek at the new NIST.gov and let us know what you think!
(Please note: some content may not be complete on the beta site.).

View the beta site
NIST logo

Commerce Secretary Gutierrez Announces Selection of 2008-2009 Commerce Science and Technology Fellows

For Immediate Release: June 24, 2008

Bookmark and Share

Contact: Rich Mills/Ann Marie Hauser

WASHINGTON-Commerce Secretary Carlos M. Gutierrez today announced that 17 individuals have been selected to participate in the Commerce Science and Technology Fellowship (ComSci) Program. Established in 1964 and later enacted by Congress, ComSci is a 10-month policy study and leadership program that is open to career senior federal employees from any government agency. The ComSci Program takes its participants behind the scenes to learn about science and technology policy-making and management from the brightest minds in government, industry and academia.

"This year marks the induction of the 40th class of ComSci Fellows," said Gutierrez. "The individuals selected to participate in this esteemed program will have the opportunity to gain an in-depth knowledge of the intricacies of science and technology policy at the national and international levels. The insights that ComSci Fellows pass on have and will continue to ensure that the technical and scientific leadership of the United States will endure."

The 2008-2009 ComSci fellows are:

Michael Gaitan, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Ann M. Garrett, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Kirk E. Herzog, Air Force Research Laboratory
Malgorzata Klosek, National Institutes of Health
Karen Kohanowich, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Theresa L. Kraus, Federal Aviation Administration
Daniel J. Melendez-Alvira, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Charles K. Orthman, Central Intelligence Agency
Nicholas G. Paulter, Jr., National Institute of Standards and Technology
Joseph Pellettiere, Air Force Research Laboratory
Seema S. Rao, United States Patent and Trademark Office
Steven Ray, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Curtis B. Roberts, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Laura M. Roman, National Institutes of Health
Behrouz Shabestari, National Institutes of Health
Diane Lynn Stassi, National Institutes of Health
Lee Lynn Zia, National Science Foundation

Through site visits and regular seminars featuring noted subject-matter experts from government, academia and the private sector, ComSci Fellows are given the opportunity to study national and international issues relating to the development, application and management of science and technology policy. The ComSci Program includes a one-week congressional orientation and a policy study-related field trip. ComSci Fellows also may opt for a challenging 10-month full-time developmental work assignment in the executive or legislative branch. Additional information about the ComSci program is available at www.comsci.gov.

ComSci is managed and administered by the Commerce Department's National Institute of Standards and Technology.