Take a sneak peek at the new NIST.gov and let us know what you think!
(Please note: some content may not be complete on the beta site.).

View the beta site
NIST logo

Three From NIST Elected Fellows of American Physical Society

For Immediate Release: January 5, 2011

Bookmark and Share

Contact: Chad Boutin

Three scientists at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) were recently elected as 2010 fellows of the American Physical Society (APS), an honor bestowed upon association members by their peers.

Muhammad Arif, John Kasianowicz and Thomas Silva were among more than 200 APS members recognized for their advances in physics through original research and publication, or for significant innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology. Each year, no more than one half of one percent of Society membership is elected a Fellow.

Arif, of NIST’s Ionizing Radiation Division, was cited for “pioneering contributions in neutron interferometry, imaging and detection, with applications ranging from precise measurements of neutron scattering lengths to the imaging of flows in hydrogen fuel cells.”

Kasianowicz, of the Semiconductor Electronics Division, was cited for “his pioneering contributions to the field of biophysics including the detection, identification, characterization and quantification of biological and chemical polymers, and for the development of a new method for protein structure determination.”

Silva, of the Electromagnetics Division, was cited for “his fundamental contributions to the experimental studies of the spin-torque oscillators, their interactions, and collective states, and for the development of new quantitative experimental methods for the investigation of magnetization dynamics in thin films and nanostructures.”

Fellows will be honored at ceremonies held at meetings of their particular APS divisions, which gather at different times during the year. For more information on the APS fellowship program, visit http://aps.org/programs/honors/.