Take a sneak peek at the new NIST.gov and let us know what you think!
(Please note: some content may not be complete on the beta site.).

View the beta site
NIST logo
Bookmark and Share

NIST Safety Award


Award Winner: Boulder Division Safety Representatives


The NIST Safety Award, first presented in 1979, is granted for unusually significant contribution to NIST Occupational Safety and Health Program activities.


The Boulder Division Safety Representatives are recognized as an organization for their exemplary leadership, teamwork, and dedication in dramatically improving safety practices at the NIST Boulder Laboratories. Over the past two years, the Boulder Division Safety Representatives have led dramatic improvements in safety practices, many of which have been adopted NIST-wide. Their successes include: development and implementation of a comprehensive Laboratory Hazard Assessment process; collectively developing and reviewing hundreds of hazard assessments and standard operating procedures; and fostering a highly collaborative and mutually supportive safety environment in Boulder, where solutions are developed free from artificial concerns about organizational boundaries.

(Pictured: top image, front row, from left to right: Jolene Splett, Trudi Peppler, Dawn Weller, Jeff Guerrieri; back row, from left to right: Tim Drapela, Grady White, Cam Clickner, Chris Colburn; bottom image: Maggie Crews)


Award Date: December 1, 2010

Campus: Boulder

Awarding Organization: NIST

Awarding Organization Contact Name: NIST

Organization Phone: 303-497-5342