Take a sneak peek at the new NIST.gov and let us know what you think!
(Please note: some content may not be complete on the beta site.).

View the beta site
NIST logo
Bookmark and Share

2011 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Shechtman and colleagues

Award Winner: Daniel Shechtman


Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for peace. The Nobel Prize is an international award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden. In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank established The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize. Each prize consists of a medal, personal diploma, and a cash award.


The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for 2011 to Dan Shechtman -
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel "for the discovery of quasicrystals."

NIST Colleagues Congratulate Shechtman on Nobel Chemistry Prize


Award Date: October 5, 2011

Campus: Gaithersburg

Awarding Organization: Nobel Foundation

Awarding Organization Contact Name: Nobel Foundation

Organization Phone: see Nobel site


General Information:

Phone: (301) 975-6161