Take a sneak peek at the new NIST.gov and let us know what you think!
(Please note: some content may not be complete on the beta site.).

View the beta site
NIST logo
Bookmark and Share

University of Maryland's 25th Annual Invention of the Year Award

Photo of 2012 UMD Invention of the Year Award winners
From left: Abhishek Motayed, George-Mason University collaborator Mulpuri V. Rao, Geetha Aluri, Albert Davydov, and Vladimir Oleshko

Award Winner: Abhishek Motayed, Geetha Aluri, Albert Davydov, Vladimir Oleshko


For Nanoengineered Chemical Sensors that offer Superior Detection of Environmental Pollutants, Hydrogen, and other Industrial Chemicals


University of Maryland, in collaboration with the National Institute for Standards and Technology and George Mason University, have developed a novel chemical sensor architecture by combining the sensitive transduction capability of semiconducting nanostructures together with the enhanced catalytic efficiency of metal and metal-oxide nanoclusters. This new technology can produce sensors whose selectivity can be precisely tuned to any small set of chemicals through the design of the nanocluster, something currently not possible with any other technology. These new sensors offer the best of both worlds: the sensitivity and selectivity of the desktop laboratory systems while consuming significantly less power than current solid state devices. Furthermore, this new technology promises to achieve parts-per-trillion sensitivity, satisfying the need for low cost, on-demand trace explosives detection. These combined attributes promise to make a sensor technology that is unmatched in terms of sensitivity, selectivity, size, power, and cost.


Award Date: April 18, 2012

Campus: Gaithersburg

Awarding Organization: The University of Maryland's Office of Technology Commercialization

Awarding Organization Contact Name: Lee Tune

Organization Phone: 301 405 4679