NIST logo

The Material Measurement Laboratory is the major operating unit within the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) focused on measurement research, standards,and data in the chemical, biological and materials sciences. To learn more, see What We Do.

MML Organization

 Dr. Laurie Locascio

Dr. Laurie E. Locascio

Michael Fasolka

Deputy Director

Dr. Michael Fasolka

Dr. Robert L. Watters, Jr., Assoc. Dir. for Meas. Serv.

Associate Director for
Measurement Services
Dr. Robert L. Watters, Jr.

 Neil Alderoty

Executive Officer
Neil Alderoty



Applied Chemicals and Materials Division

Dr. Stephanie Hooker  Dr. Stephanie Hooker, Chief

Biomolecular Measurement Division

Dr. Mike Tarlov

 Dr. Michael Tarlov, Chief

Biosystems and Biomaterials Division

Anne L. Plant

 Dr. Anne Plant, Chief

Chemical Sciences Division

Dr. Carlos Gonzalez Dr. Carlos Gonzalez, Chief 


Materials Measurement Science Division 

Dr. John Small Dr. John Small, Chief  


Materials Science and Engineering Division

Dr. Eric Lin

Dr. Eric Lin, Chief



Office of Reference Materials

Dr. Robert L. Watters, Jr.

Dr. Robert L. Watters, Jr., Director


  • Business Application Development, Support and Security Group - Alec Belsky, Group Leader
  • Materials and Physical Services Group - Mark Cronise, Group Leader
  • Sales and Customer Services Group - Teressa Rush-Cover, Group Leader
  • Publication and Web Services Group - Dinis Camara, Group Leader
  • Business and Quality Management Group - Maria Polakoski, Group Leader

Office of Data and Informatics

  • Data Services Group - Adam Morey, Group Leader

Bookmark and Share

Technical Program Directors

Dr. Debra Kaiser
Advanced Materials
Nanoparticles and Environment, Health and Safety

Dr. James Kushmerick
Safety, Security and Forensics

Dr. Richard Ricker


Dr. James Warren
Materials Genomics

Dr. Stephen Wise
Environment and Climate
Food Safety and Nutrition

Additional Staff Members

Dr. Nick Barbosa, Scientific Advisor

Dr. June Lau, Scientific Advisor

Dr. Torey Liepa, Information Specialist

Dr. Elizabeth Mackey, Safety Program Coordinator

Dr. Mary Satterfield, Scientific Advisor





General Information:
301-975-8300 Telephone
301-975-3845 Facsimile

100 Bureau Drive, M/S 8300
Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8300