Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Contacts NIST

Managing SURF Program Director
Brandi Toliver
Phone: (301)975-2371
E-mail: brandi.toliver [at]

Physical Measurement Laboratory

Electrical Engineering Concentration

Joseph Kopanksi
E-mail: joseph.kopanski [at]

Darwin Reyes-Hernandez
E-mail: darwin.reyes [at] (subject: SURF%20Program)

Richard Steiner
E-mail: richard.steiner [at]

Physics Lab Concentration

Uwe Arp
E-mail: uwe.arp [at]

Maritoni Litorja
E-mail: maritoni.litorja [at] (subject: SURF%20Program)

Material Measurement Laboratory / NIST Center for Neutron Research

Chemical/Biochemical Sciences

Andre Striegel
Chemical Sciences Division
E-mail: andre.striegel [at]

Sam Forry
Biosystems & Biomaterials Division
E-mail: sam.forry [at]

Russell Johnson, III
Chemical Sciences Division
E-mail: russell.johnson [at]

Materials Science

Amanda Forster
Materials Measurement Laboratory
E-mail: amanda.forster [at]

Julie A. Borchers
NIST Center for Neutron Research
E-mail: julie.borchers [at]

Joseph Dura
NIST Center for Neutron Research
E-mail: dura [at] (subject: SURF%20Program) ( )


Engineering Laboratory

Lisa Jean Fronczek
E-mail: lisa.fronczek [at]

Cartier Murrill
E-mail: cartier.murill [at] (subject: SURF%20Program)

Stephen Potts
E-mail: stephen.potts [at] (subject: SURF%20Program)

Information Technology Laboratory

Lotfi Benmohamed
Advanced Network Technologies Division
E-mail: lotfi.benmohamed [at]

Timothy Burns
Applied and Computational Mathematics Division
E-mail: timothy.burns [at]

Michaela Iorga
Computer Security Division
E-mail: michaela.iorga [at] (subject: SURF%20Program)

Derek Juba
Software and Systems Division
E-mail: derek.juba [at] (subject: SURF%20Program)

Elizabeth Lennon
Information Technology Laboratory Office
E-mail:Elizabeth.lennon [at]

Comunications Technology Laboratory

David Griffith
Wireless Networks Division
E-mail: david.griffith [at]

Center for Nanoscale Science and Technology

Vladimir Aksyuk
E-mail: unguris [at]

Kartik Srinivasan
E-mail: kartik.srinivasan [at]

Created June 2, 2010, Updated February 28, 2018