Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

OWM Staff and Technical Experts Directory

OWM Organization Chart (PDF)

 

 Type of Information

Contact

Phone

Email

Weights & Measures

Katrice Lippa, Chief   (301) 975-3116

katrice.lippa [at] nist.gov

Administrative Staff:      
Office Manager and General Inquiries Barbara Cohn (301) 975-4004 barbara.cohn [at] nist.gov
Publication Coordinator Shelby Bowers   shelby.bowers [at] nist.gov

Training Coordinator, OWM Webmaster, and OWM Contacts System Administrator

Yvonne Branden (301) 975-3272 yvonne.branden [at] nist.gov
AV Productions Coordinator Rich Montgomery (301) 975-4002
richard.montgomery [at] nist.gov

Technical Areas

Administration
History
U.S. System
Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov

Laws & Regulations

Packaging and Labeling
Precious Metals Conversion
Price Verification
Retail and Unit Pricing Laws
Net Quantity of Contents
David Sefcik (301) 975-4868 david.sefcik [at] nist.gov
Lisa Warfield (301) 975-3308 lisa.warfield [at] nist.gov
Engine Fuel Quality & Biofuels Lisa Warfield (301) 975-3308 lisa.warfield [at] nist.gov
OIML Packaging and Labeling (R79 & R87)
David Sefcik (301) 975-4868 david.sefcik [at] nist.gov
Lisa Warfield (301) 975-3308 lisa.warfield [at] nist.gov

International Legal Metrology Program

International Legal Metrology (OIML) Chuck Ehrlich (301) 975-4834 charles.ehrlich [at] nist.gov
Ralph Richter (301) 975-3997 ralph.richter [at] nist.gov
Katya Delak (301) 975-2520 katya.delak [at] nist.gov
Metric Program
Metric System (SI) Information
Federal Agency Metric Progress Reports
Unit Conversion
U.S. Metrication
Elizabeth Benham (301) 975-3690 elizabeth.benham [at] nist.gov

Publications

NIST Handbook 105 Series, Specifications & Tolerances for Field Standards Micheal Hicks (301) 975-4615 micheal.hicks [at] nist.gov
NIST Handbook 44, Specifications, Tolerances and Other Technical Requirements for Weighing and Measuring Devices Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Diane Lee (301) 975-4405 diane.lee [at] nist.gov
Juana Williams (301) 975-3989 juana.williams [at] nist.gov
NIST Handbook 130, Uniform Laws and Regulations in the Areas of Legal Metrology and Fuel Quality
 
David Sefcik (301) 975-4868 david.sefcik [at] nist.gov
Lisa Warfield (301) 975-3308 lisa.warfield [at] nist.gov
NIST Handbook 133, Checking the Net Contents of Packaged Goods David Sefcik (301) 975-4868 david.sefcik [at] nist.gov
Lisa Warfield (301) 975-3308 lisa.warfield [at] nist.gov
NIST Handbook 143: State Weights and Measures Laboratories Program Handbook Micheal Hicks (301) 975-4615 micheal.hicks [at] nist.gov

Measuring Systems

Metering Devices - General & Other Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Diane Lee (301) 975-4405 diane.lee [at] nist.gov
Juana Williams (301) 975-3989 juana.williams [at] nist.gov
Electric Vehicle Refueling Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Juana Williams (301) 975-3989 juana.williams [at] nist.gov
Electric Watthour Type Electric Meters Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Lisa Warfield (301) 975-3308 lisa.warfield [at] nist.gov
Cryogenic Measuring Devices Juana Williams (301) 975-3989 juana.williams [at] nist.gov
Gas Pumps (Retail Motor Fuel Dispensers) Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Diane Lee (301) 975-4405 diane.lee [at] nist.gov
Juana Williams (301) 975-3989 juana.williams [at] nist.gov
Hydrogen & Compressed Gases Juana Williams (301) 975-3989 juana.williams [at] nist.gov
Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) Meters Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Loading-Rack Meters Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Diane Lee (301) 975-4405 diane.lee [at] nist.gov
Juana Williams (301) 975-3989 juana.williams [at] nist.gov
Mass Flow Meters Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Diane Lee (301) 975-4405 diane.lee [at] nist.gov
Juana Williams (301) 975-3989 juana.williams [at] nist.gov
Master Meters Val Miller (301) 975-4004 val.miller [at] nist.gov

Small Volume Provers

General Field Use Diane Lee (301) 975-4405 diane.lee [at] nist.gov
Calibration, Witnessing Val Miller (301) 975-4004 val.miller [at] nist.gov
Vehicle-Tank Meters Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Diane Lee (301) 975-4405 diane.lee [at] nist.gov
Juana Williams (301) 975-3989 juana.williams [at] nist.gov

Weighing Systems

Weighing Devices - General Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Automatic Weighing Systems & OIML R51 Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Belt-Conveyer Scales & OIML R50 Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Hopper Scales, Auto Bulk Weighing Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
In-Motion Weighing-General Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
OIML R134 (In-Motion Vehicle Weighing) Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Non-Automatic Weighing Instruments - OIML R76 Chuck Ehrlich (301) 975-4834 charles.ehrlich [at] nist.gov
Railway Track Scales & OIML R106 Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Uncertainties - Balances and Scales Micheal Hicks (301) 975-4615 micheal.hicks [at] nist.gov

Other Device-Related Topics

Grain Moisture & Protein Analyzers & OIML R59 and OIML R146 Diane Lee (301) 975-4405 diane.lee [at] nist.gov
Livestock Carcass Measuring Systems Diane Lee (301) 975-4405 diane.lee [at] nist.gov
Multiple Dimension Measuring Devices Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Taximeters, Transportation Network Measuring Systems, and Odometers & OIML R21 Juana Williams (301) 975-3989 juana.williams [at] nist.gov

Laboratory Metrology

Laboratory Technical Assistance - General Isabel Chavez Baucom (301) 975-2128 isabel.chavez.baucom [at] nist.gov
Micheal Hicks (301) 975-4615 micheal.hicks [at] nist.gov
Elizabeth Koncki (301) 975-4859 elizabeth.koncki [at] nist.gov
Calibration Procedures Micheal Hicks (301) 975-4615 micheal.hicks [at] nist.gov
Measurement Traceability Micheal Hicks (301) 975-4615 micheal.hicks [at] nist.gov
Proficiency Testing Micheal Hicks (301) 975-4615 micheal.hicks [at] nist.gov
Quality Management Systems Isabel Chavez Baucom (301) 975-2128 isabel.chavez.baucom [at] nist.gov
State Lab Program & Recognition Isabel Chavez Baucom (301) 975-2128 isabel.chavez.baucom [at] nist.gov
Micheal Hicks (301) 975-4615 micheal.hicks [at] nist.gov
Elizabeth Koncki (301) 975-4859 elizabeth.koncki [at] nist.gov
Uncertainties Micheal Hicks (301) 975-4615 micheal.hicks [at] nist.gov

Training

Laboratory Metrology Training Isabel Chavez Baucom (301) 975-2128 isabel.chavez.baucom [at] nist.gov
Laws & Regulations Training, Prepackaged Commodities, Price Verification, and Package Labeling David Sefcik (301) 975-4868 david.sefcik [at] nist.gov
Metric System (SI) Training and Education Outreach Elizabeth Benham (301) 975-3690 elizabeth.benham [at] nist.gov
Weighing, Measuring, and Other Devices Training Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov

National Conference on Weights & Measures (NCWM) Committees*

Executive Secretary Katrice Lippa (301) 975-3116 katrice.lippa [at] nist.gov
Laws & Regulations Committee Lisa Warfield (301) 975-3308 lisa.warfield [at] nist.gov
Professional Development Committee Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
Specifications & Tolerances Committee
Diane Lee (301) 975-4405 diane.lee [at] nist.gov

NCWM National Type Evaluation Program (NTEP) Sectors

NTEP Software Sector Katya Delak (301) 975-2520 katya.delak [at] nist.gov
NTEP Grain Analyzers Sector Diane Lee (301) 975-4405 diane.lee [at] nist.gov
NTEP Measuring Sector Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
NTEP Belt Conveyer Sector Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov
NTEP Weighing Sector Tina Butcher (301) 975-2196 tina.butcher [at] nist.gov

 

Created March 11, 2022, Updated June 9, 2022