Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

John R. Sieber

John Sieber is responsible for X-ray fluorescence spectrometry methods and for development and maintenance of Standard Reference Materials for industrial commodities, including ferrous alloys, nonferrous alloys, cement and numerous other materials. John's research interests include test method development for XRF, borate fusion, fundamental parameters, spectroscopy tools, and novel XRF instrumentation. From 1988 to 1997, he was employed in the petroleum industry developing and implementing elemental analysis methods in support of product development and manufacturing quality control for fuels and lubricants.

John has contributed to the development, certification and technical support of nearly 400 Standard Reference Materials.  He is currently Technical Project Leader for over 20 ongoing new and renewal SRM projects.  John has authored or co-authored over 45 peer-reviewed technical publications and has given nearly 60 presentations at technical conferences.  He has been active on committees of ASTM International and the International Electrotechnical Congress for the past 17 years.  Dr. Sieber was named a Fellow of ASTM International in 2016.

Membership and Professional Activities

  • American Chemical Society, member 1978 to present
  • ASTM International Committees
    • E01 Analytical Chemistry of Metals, Ores and Related Materials, 1999 to present
    • F40 Declarable Substances in Materials, 2005 to present
    • Consultant to committees B10 Refractive and Refractory Metals and Alloys, C01 Cement, C14 Glass and Glass Products, D02 on Petroleum Products, Liquid Fuels and Lubricants and D20 Plastics
  • IEC TC 111 Working Group 3 Test Methods for Electrotechnical Products, U.S. Technical Expert Member 2005 to 2014
  • U.S. Technical Advisory Group to ISO TC 28 on Petroleum Products, 1998 to 2012
  • X-Ray Spectrometry Editorial Review Board, 1998 to present
  • Texaco Committee on Methods of Test, Executive Member, 1991 to 1997


  • Award of Merit, ASTM International, 2016
  • John L. Hague Award, 2013, and B.F. Scribner Award, 2005, ASTM International Committee E01 on Analytical Chemistry of Metals, Ores and Related Materials
  • Awards of Appreciation, ASTM International Committee F40 on Declarable Substances in Materials, 2012, and Committee D02 on Petroleum Products, Liquid Fuels and Lubricants, 2000
  • Bronze Medal Award, United States Department of Commerce, 2005
  • Rector's Award for Achievement in Research Activities, University of Mining and Metallurgy, Krakow, Poland, 2001
  • Best Poster Award, 44th Annual Conference on Applications of X‑Ray Analysis, 1995
  • Individual Outstanding Contributor Award, Texaco Research & Development Department, 1993


Metrological Tools for the Reference Materials and Reference Instruments of the NIST Material Measurement Laboratory

Carlos R. Beauchamp, Johanna Camara, Jennifer Carney, Steven J. Choquette, Kenneth D. Cole, Paul C. DeRose, David L. Duewer, Michael S. Epstein, Margaret C. Kline, Katrice A. Lippa, Enrico Lucon, Karen W. Phinney, Maria Polakoski, Antonio M. Possolo, Katherine E. Sharpless, John R. Sieber, Blaza Toman, Michael R. Winchester, Donald A. Windover
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), formerly the National Bureau of Standards, was established by the U.S. Congress in 1901 and charged
Created October 9, 2019