Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Jinghui Yang

Jinghui Yang is a PML/Georgetown postdoctoral researcher in the Microsystems and Nanotechnology Division. She received a B.S. from Tsinghua University and a Ph.D from UCLA. She worked with Prof. Chee Wei Wong for her doctoral research, where she focused on microresonator frequency combs and precise optical frequency synthesis. She also studied bistability and self-pulsation phenomena in photonic crystal nanocavities. She has been awarded the UCLA Distinguished PhD Dissertation Award and the Maiman Student Paper Competition Finalist with Honorable Mention. She has expertise in ultrafast optics, nonlinear nanophotonics, frequency metrology, photonic waveguides and microcavities. She is currently working with Dr. Amit Agrawal and Dr. Henri Lezec on numerically modeling, designing, fabricating, and experimentally characterizing advanced nanophotonic devices including waveguides, microcavities, metasurfaces and plasmonic devices operating at visible, infrared, and terahertz frequencies.

Selected Publications

  • J. Yang, S.-W. Huang, Z. Xie, M. Yu, D.-L. Kwong, and C. W. Wong, “Coherent satellites in multi-spectral regenerative frequency microcombs”, Communications Physics 3, 27 (2020).
  • S.-W. Huang*, J. Yang*, S.-H. Yang, M. Yu, D.-L. Kwong, T. Zelevinsky, M. Jarrahi, and C. W. Wong, Globally stable microresonator Turing pattern formation for coherent high-power THz radiation on-chip, Physical Review X 7, 041002 (2017)
  • S.-W. Huang, J. Yang, M. Yu, B. H. McGuyer, D.-L. Kwong, T. Zelevinsky, and C. W. Wong, A broadband chip-scale optical frequency synthesizer at 2.7x10-16 relative uncertainty, Science Advances 2, e1501489 (2016)
  • S.-W. Huang, J. F. McMillan, J. Yang, A. Matsko, H. Zhou, M. Yu, D.-L. Kwong, L. Maleki, and C. W. Wong, Mode-locking ultrashort pulse generation from on-chip normal dispersion microresonators, Phys. Rev. Lett. 114, 053901 (2015).
  • J. Yang, T. Gu, J. Zheng, M. Yu, G.-Q. Lo, D.-L. Kwong, and C. W. Wong, Radio-frequency regenerative oscillations in monolithic high-Q/V heterostructured photonic crystal cavities, Appl. Phys. Lett. 104, 061104 (2014).
Created September 13, 2019, Updated June 1, 2020