Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Hai S. Lew

Dr. Hai S. Lew is a research structural engineer in the Structures Group of the Materials and Structural Systems Division (MSSD) of the Engineering Laboratory (EL) at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Dr. Lew, as Senior Research Engineer, carries out a broad range of research programs in the fields of structural and earthquake engineering. He joined the National Bureau of Standards (NBS) in 1968 as a structural research engineer. He successively became Chief of the Construction Safety Section (1978-1985), Chief of the Structural Evaluation Section (1985-1989), and Chief of the Structures Division (1989-1998). Prior to joining NBS/NIST, he was an assistant professor at the University of Texas at Austin.

Dr. Lew is a fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) and an honorary member of the American Concrete Institute (ACI), and a member of the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute, and the Structural Stability Research Council. He is an honorary member of the Architectural Institute of Korea and a member of the National Academy of Engineering of Korea.

He was a member of the Board of Governors of the ASCE/Structural Engineering Institute, and the Board of Directors of the Building Seismic Safety Council (BSSC)/the National Institute of Building Sciences. Dr. Lew was Chair of the Board of Trustees of the ACI Concrete Research and Education Foundation. He has served on the Board of Direction (1987-1990) and the Technical Activities Committee (1989-1995) of the American Concrete Institute, and was the president of the National Capitol Chapter of ACI (1990).

Dr. Lew serves on various technical and administrative committees of national and international professional and standards organizations. He is a member of the ACI Building Code Committee (ACI 318), and served on the American Institute of Steel Construction's Committee on Design Specification for Steel Buildings. Dr. Lew also serves on the BSSC Provisions Update Committee, which develops the NEHRP Recommended Provisions for Seismic Regulations.

He serves on the SEI/ASCE Executive Committee of the Codes and Standards Activities Division and the Standard Committee on Blast Load Resistance of Structures. He is a member of the ACI Committee on the Concrete Research Council, the Nondestructive Testing, and Formwork for Concrete. Dr. Lew has published over 150 articles, papers, and reports on the performance of structural members and systems, construction safety, failure investigations, and earthquake engineering.

Dr. Lew is the recipient of several honors and awards, including the ACI Wason Medal for "Materials Research," 1980; the National Safety Council's Cameron Award for "Outstanding Construction Safety Work," 1982; the CBT Communications Award in 1980 for excellence in dissemination of research results in building technology; and the ACI Wason Medal for "The Most Meritorious Paper in Research" in 1987. Dr. Lew received the ACI Henry Kennedy Award for Outstanding Leadership in 1990, the ACI Chapter Activities Award in 1995, and the ACI Henry C. Turner Medal for significant contributions to improve performance and safety of structures in 1999. He has received the ACI International Conference Award for sustained contributions to concrete technology in repair and rehabilitation of structures. Dr. Lew is a 1980 recipient of the U.S. Department of Commerce Bronze Medal Award and a recipient of the Silver Medal Award in 1982 and 2001, and the Gold Medal in 2005. He was selected as the Department of Commerce "Engineer of the Year" in 1995.

Dr. Lew is a registered professional engineer in the District of Columbia, and the States of Maryland and New York.


Created October 9, 2019